Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Oh they are so very pretty!

Oh they are so very pretty!

Hi, my name is Cathy and I am addicted to notebooks. I probably also have a wider stationary dependency problem, but I can handle that because I get to order the stationary at work so my cravings are kept under control. Except for when it comes to notebooks.

Notebooks are just too powerful to be ignored. Whether lined or blank, their empty pages are full of possibilities. The more beautiful the cover and binding, the greater the inspiration for creating beauty within. I like tiny notebooks that slip in and out of pockets, ready for any idea caught on the wind. I like big notebooks that feel heavy in your arms and invite weighty thoughts and reflections into their pages. However they come, a true addict sees that all notebooks are different from one another and are therefore special.

If you too have a notebook addiction, then you will have faced the same problem as I do: How do I justify buying this new awesome notebook when I have so many unused ones at home? This evening I searched every handbag and room in the house and gathered all my notebooks together and counted them. Even I was a little bit daunted by the numbers. I have 16 notebooks that have been filled cover to cover, 19 that have been partially filled, and a further 11 notebooks waiting to be used. Clearly I have grown skilled at convincing myself that each new notebook is a legitimate purchase. And here is how I did it:

I assign each notebook a specific purpose and then use it for that purpose alone. This way you can use several notebooks at once and will need to replenish your stock more regularly. Here are some examples of the many types of notebooks you can use.

  1. Diary – Normal every day journaling. Whether you are Bridget Jones or Samuel
    The customised cover of this diary alone is enough to warn that the contents are truly embarrasing

    The customized cover of this diary alone is enough to warn that the contents are truly embarrassing

    Pepys, everyone needs a friend of paper and binding to share their days with.

  2. Handbag notebook –Your regular diary is too personal to risk carrying it with you everywhere. What if it ended up in the wrong hands? No, you need a compact little book so innocent jotting down of thoughts, plans, lists that you need to make on the go.
  3. Calendar diary – Much more fun than inputting dates and parties in your phone, because when you use an actual planner you get to use stickers! Sure you could combine this with your handbag notebook but you wouldn’t want it to get too cluttered with shopping lists and doodles. Then you might not notice you have a dentist appointment at 4.
  4. Dream Journal – Some use a dream journal to analyse their self-conscious, others use them as a tool to start lucid dreaming. Mine tends to reflect which fandom was on my mind the most, for example 15 year old Cathy dreamt of Hogwarts, 18 year old Cathy dreamed of giving therapy to angst ridden Creole vampires. Now I dream of a blue box that is bigger on the inside.
  5. Devotional Diary –  To be used for prayers, Bible Verses, reflections. This is one of the most useful and moving diaries to keep. It enables me to remember where I have come from, to listen to God in the present and to dream big about the future.
  6. Film or book review notebook – I don’t even remember why I thought this wouldFilm notebook be a good idea but I started keeping this diary every time I saw a new film, giving it my own review. I stuck in cinema tickets and pictures from magazines. I also recorded where I saw the film and who I was with. When I look back I remember the times I spent with my friends more than I do the film. For example the first time I went to see the Pirates of the Caribbean I was with Anna and Rachel. We arrived as fan girls of Orlando Bloom and left obsessed with Johnny Depp. Without my film diary I might never have appreciated the fickleness of teenage love.
  7. Creative writing notebook – For your poems, stories, ideas, song writing, drawings. Anyone with a notebook addiction must also have a creative streak, so make sure at least one of your diaries is dedicated to a creative purpose
  8. Recipe Notebook – For new, borrowed and old recipes. Include ones torn from magazines and passed on from friends. Very practical notebook and it means you get to keep a notebook in the kitchen. (The more you spread out your notebooks around the house, the less you have to face the truth that you have too many!)
  9. New Year’s Resolution Tracker– When you make a resolution at the start of the year, write it in a diary and then throughout the year record your progress. Include advice and info on your resolution. You can put in charts and photos too. Or if you over do resolutions, like me, and have four or five each year rather than one, choose a notepad that splits into segments and dedicate each segment to a different resolution. This is a good motivation to follow through as you can see your progress.
  10. Yes, this is too many

    Yes, this is too many

    A notebook to use to cross reference your other notebooks – What if you wanted to read your diary entries across all your notebooks in chronological order? With so many notebooks on the go it is hard to keep track. So I got a small notebook and use it to record the date and diary of every entry I ever made in chronological order. Then when I am feeling nostalgic I can gather my diaries together and read them all in the proper order.

No.10 crosses a line, doesn’t it? Yeah. I know. I have a problem…

