Tags

, , , , , , ,

DSC_3193Yesterday we celebrated the 80th Birthday of Gladys Skidmore who is more commonly known as Grannie. Grannie is the proud mother of three children, grandmother of ten grandchildren and great-grandmother of two gorgeous little girls.

Grannie is kind, encouraging and generous. She never forgets a birthday and she commemorates every achievement, big or small, her grandchildren make. Grannie has always taught us that she is proud of us and that we are very much loved. She is also my most trusted fashion adviser with a keen eye for quality fabric and flattering colours. Some of my favourite items of clothing are ones that have been chosen by Grannie. She has stepped in many times with a needle and thread to alter hems, adjust waists and shorten straps to transform dresses into the perfect fit. All in all, she is one amazing lady.

So it was wonderful to see her family and friends gather together for a beautifully sunny day  of joy and food at Whalley Abbey. My cousin Diane baked this mouth-watering chocolate cake for the occasion. I absolutely adore cake topped with fruit. It was almost a shame we had to cut it up because it looked so beautiful!

DSC_3170

There were smiles all around, especially as our little cousins seemed to have grown in their cuteness!

DSC_3311

The glorious sunshine allowed the summer dresses to come out in full force. I wore this ASOS black dress with floral print. I love the neckline and the detail on the sleeves. The only problem is that the neckline is a little low so I had to put a vest top on underneath. Which made me rather hot as the afternoon wore on. At some point I will put in a little black lace panel so that I can wear the dress on its own.

DSC_3290

DSC_3276

DSC_3248

I absolutely loved spending time with my cousins and extended family. We are all scattered around the country so it is always special when we can all be in the same place. After lunch we spent the afternoon milling around the grounds catching up, sharing memories and enjoying each other’s company.

DSC_3249

DSC_3244

DSC_3224

DSC_3304

DSC_3065

What a perfect English summer day to celebrate one perfectly beloved Grannie!

