Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The other week I was browsing in Boundary Mill and a shelf of little glossy animal figurines caught my eye. When I went for a closer look I saw that there was a discrete clasp on each figure. These weren’t just ornaments!  They were decorative trinket boxes and inside each one was a pendant necklace that was an exact replica of the box. It was like holding a piece of Wonderland in my hand.

King Fisher

The official blurb describes them as follows:

This lovely Hidden Treasures trinket box is produced by Arora Design. Hand cast in Pewter, gold plated, then painted with vibrant enamels and finally embellished with Austrian crystals. Concealed within is a perfectly matching cameo presented on a gold plated chain. The Hidden Treasures range was awarded the prestigious accolade of winner of the Collectables category in the Gift of the Year 2003.

Scarecrow

Most of the designs in the shop were animal based but online there is an Alice in Wonderland collection and a Wizard of Oz series. Each one of the little critters is bursting with kitsch character and I seriously do want one.

I just have two obstacles.  The first one being that ornaments seem a bit fussy to me, they always catch my eye in shops but I am not sure how I feel about them in the house. I guess one would be a nice addition to my dressing table but I don’t think I want a collection. Which leads to obstacle number two; I can’t decide which one is my favourite!

fox

Here are the ones that are tempting me the most:

  • The Hedgehog
  • Ladybird
  • Scarecrow Wizard of Oz
  • Kingfisher
  • Red fox

Hedgehog

I really don’t know. Maybe I should just put it on my wish list and let Santa choose for me!

