Tags

, , ,

The morning after I was hit by a motorbike in 2011, my Dad and Rob went to the hospital gift shop to try and find something to cheer me up. Other men may have come back with flowers or chocolate or grapes, but the men in my life like to do things their own way.

They returned to my ward with two opaque packets of Lego mini-figures. Each packet contains a Lego man but you don’t know which one you are going to get until you open the packet. That morning the Lego figures were a Lumberjack with an axe and a clown with a custard pie. These guys have lived together on my bedside ever since, like an odd-couple sitcom premise.

And so began our very childish tradition of marking every important and many unimportant events with Lego. We buy each other sets or mini-figures for Christmas, Birthdays, sick days, and sometimes Wednesdays.

Our collection has grown considerably over the last year. We have Lord of the Rings Lego, Cops and Robber’s Lego, Star Wars Lego but by far the coolest of the bunch are the Superheroes.

Lego heroes

Look at them, standing there all epic-like. Which is why I absolutely cannot wait to see this film next year!

Is that not the most fandom-squee inducing thing ever? Lego Batman side by side with Lego Wonder Woman in a movie with Lego Abraham Lincoln! 2014 is going to be a good year!

