Tags

My friend and fellow blogger Beth did a reading habits tag this week and as I am off work for the next two weeks and have a huge pile of books to chomp through I thought I would join in the fun. Here are my answers:

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

My favourite place to read is on any chair or bed that the sunshine is hitting through the window. Like a cat I tend to follow the sun as it moves throughout the house. In the morning I read in the dining room on an old chez long that used to belong to my Gran, in the afternoon I move to the lounge with my legs sprawled over one of the arms of he armchair by the window. If the weather is actually sunny and hot there is nothing better that reading on a blanket on the grass in the garden with an ice lolly in hand!

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Erm…I fold down the corners. I know that is a terrible habit but I always seem to loose bookmarks. There is one exception, I have a black leather bookmark with a golden Celtic knot design that lives permanently in my Lord of the Rings books. It just seems to belong with the epic so those are the only books that I use a bookmark for and then I only use that one bookmark.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or certain number of pages?

I can stop reading at any time and pick it up again fairly easily. If I love the book then it will take a chapter break to remind me that I do need to stop at some time and do things like sleep, eat…go to work.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes, in fact there is something about breakfast and reading that go hand in hand for me, especially on weekends when I can settle down with my toast and book!

Do you watch TV or listen to music while reading?

Not really, when I read I tend to zone out of my surroundings so I wouldn’t notice them if they were on or not. Sometimes I read whilst Rob is playing on the PlayStation. Does that count?

One book at a time or several at once?

One book at a time as a rule, although I may have a non-fiction book that I dip in and out of over the course of a couple of months, but with novels it is only ever one at a time.

Reading at home or everywhere?

Reading at home is best, but I can read anywhere. And if I am going to be on my own waiting anywhere like at a Doctors office I try and take a book with me.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

In my head. Sometimes I read poetry outloud for fun, but only to myself!

Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

Only if I am on the verge of giving up on the book. If I am bored of it or think I know exactly what is going to happen I will skip to the end to see if anything of interest is there. If the ending surprises me, I’ll go back and read on to see how it unfolds but if it meets low expectations I will call it a day and move on to my next book.

I never skip ahead if I am enjoying the story even if it is a mystery I really want to know the answer to!

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Breaking the spine. I like my books to look used and well-loved!

Do you write in your books?

I might write in the opening pages, my name and where and when I bought the book, because I love finding second hand books who have that too! Other than that I leave them alone. If they are non-fiction I go to town, underlining and making notes all over the place!

And those are my answers, any other bookworm blogger out there feel free to join in the fun and answer the questions too! I tag you all!

