Tags

, , , , ,

Hello! I saw this tag on Sophhski and thought it looked fun. If you want to have a go please feel free to answer the questions on your own blog!

1. What do you watch or read during me-time?

If Rob is not around and I get to indulge in a bit of me-time telly I’ll tend to watch things that I know he isn’t interested in so that when we are together we can watch the things we both enjoy: action, adventure, Sci-Fi and fantasy! On my own I’ll either watch some classic Hollywood like Breakfast at Tiffany’s or Singing in the Rain or maybe get in a couple of episodes of Nashville!

I tend to have a stack of library books on the go so reading material is normally to hand. I do have some well-thumbed books that instantly make me feel like I am home: Lord of the Rings, The Stand by Stephen King and Harry Potter!

2. What do you wear during me-time?

PJs, slipper boots and my new fluffy dressing down in winter! I have cold hands and feet so I sometimes add fingerless gloves to this ensemble! Bundle me up and I am happy!

If I am having me-time on a hot sunny day then all I need is a comfortable sundress and some sunglasses!

3. What are your me-time beauty products?

Boots Cold Cream to cleanse my face of the day’s make up and grime. I have recently started cleaning my face the moment I come home from work so I feel refreshed and ready to relax in the evening. It is a good way of changing my setting from work to home.

I have also started using this wonderful Lemon Bon Bon body cream by Rose & Co. I love the scent and already have been using the hand cream for months.

4. Current favourite nail polish?

If I am having a girly me-time then I normally paint my nails although I have found that wearing nail polish causes my normally strong nails to crack so I only wear it for three or four days and then take it off again.

At the moment I am wearing a lot of  Revlon’s Parfumerie in Pink Pineapple. It’s very spring like and has a spiky sweet scent that lasts for ages!

5. What do you eat or drink during me-time?

Chocolate is the answer to most questions. Dairy Milk straight out of the fridge is my favourite. I am also partial to a mini pork pie cut into quaters dipped into salad cream and washed down with a small glass of coke.

For winter me-time evenings I love a hot chocolate with a dash of toffee-apple syrup!

6. Current favourite candle?

I love all candles! At the moment I am using a vanilla scented candle that I picked up at TK Maxx. I also love the scents of blackberries and cherries. Normally any candle that is red carries a scent I like!

7. Do you ever have outdoor me-time?

DSC_1025

Absolutely! In fact when I need me-time the most I normally need to be outside. If I am stressed or worried, angry or scared the most calming thing I can do is get outside alone where it is just me and the countryside. I find that if I can just get outside and sit under a tree, watch the sky, hear the birds, get the wind on my face and through my hair I suddenly feel like me again. I often find myself turning my thoughts into prayers and when I pray outside – whether it is in a field, on a hill or in a wood I feel like I have entered into a temple – that God’s presence is all around and there are signs of his beauty and greatness all around. By the time I go inside again I normally feel much better.

When we were looking for a house one of the things I knew I needed was a place where I could step out of the door and into open green space. Our new home has that in spades; a big garden, a field behind and a park across the road!

8. Would you ever go see a movie alone?

This is something I have always wanted to do! I love the idea of just going to see a film you wanted to see and it would be just you and the story and a box of popcorn that you didn’t need to share! Maybe this year will be the year I make it happen – I just need a film to come out that I want to see and Rob doesn’t!

9. Favourite online shop?

ASOS – but I have got to stop using it. I have run out of clothes space so I am on a shopping hold!

10. Anything to add? What else do you do during me-time?

This may sound sad but one thing I love to do is jigsaw puzzles! That is a perfect me-time activity, especially if I get an audio book playing whilst I work away!

I also like to get my favourite songs playing and have a good old sing song and diva off, sipping red wine occasionally and dancing around the lounge! (With the curtains tightly drawn, obviously!)

 

