Tags

, , , , ,

Here is what I am up to at the moment, currently in May I am….

Decorating the dining room. So far we have stripped the wallpaper, had a new window installed, plastered, papered and painted three walls and the ceiling. This weekend we hope to paint the last wall and pull up the carpet ready for the new one to be fitted next week. I am so looking forward to it being done and inviting friends round to enjoy it. We said we would start the house warming party planning once this room is done!

Biting my tongue  on Social Media with all the election reaction. There is quite a lot of debate going on at the moment, and not all of it has been level-headed. Although I am glad to see so many people be passionate about our country and involved in politics, I think sometimes people are too quick to make judgement on other people for how they voted, or how they think other people voted. For what it is worth I changed my mind a few times on who to vote for – not one party had all the policies I wanted and trying to weigh up the balance of wanting a good local MP and a good Prime Minister and a good party majority is not easy. I guess what I am trying to say is that people shouldn’t attack or judge voters. Voting is not an easy decision and it’s not right to have all these campaigns encouraging people to vote and then tell them off for who they vote for!

The other good thing about this Country is that for those who care, there are other options to make your voice heard politically; you can write to your MP, sign petitions with organisations like Change.org, you can attend local council events and meetings and in a few years you can vote again!

Anyway, that is all exactly the kind of thing I have avoided putting on Facebook because I don’t like the bickering that follows! However, this blog feels a safer place to talk about this kind of stuff.

Cooking Paella! I made this beast of a meal last week to feed Mum, Dad, Rob and myself after another long day of decorating! Would you believe it, there were no leftovers!

Gaming. It’s been so long since I have been hooked in to a game but I now feel like I have time to start playing again. Rob has just started me on Mass Effect 2 which I am just completely in the mood for. I also started playing a very beautiful game called the Unfinished Swan – where you play a young boy swept into a fairy tale armed only with a paint spattering paintbrush. It’s whimsical and charming, and a great way to unwind at the end of the day when shooting aliens is just too much stimulation!

Discovering dragons in Victoria Park in Nelson. A local artist has created several magical wooden sculptures for the park. They are a really cool and quirky addition to the park!

Chuckling at this all-too-relatable video of Pinterest obsession!

