Tags

, , ,

Source

Her Ladyship’s Notebook: A collection of wisdom, inspiration and advice on being a lady.  

Happy New Year internet friends!

I hope your New Year is off to a good start. Mine began in lovely fashion with my church friends throwing me a little baby shower tea party. We ate finger sandwiches, scones and cake, played silly games and the ladies gifted me with a hamper full of useful bits and pieces for me and baby Browne (due any day now!).

During the afternoon some of the Mums and Grandma’s reminisced about their own birthing and early motherhood experiences. It was especially touching as many of these women, including my Mum, have been friends for decades; they were there for one another when they were having children and now they are providing the same support and friendship to their daughters! There was a lot of laughter and love in the room! I came away afterwards feeling very much loved and grateful for the fantastic group of ladies that I have in my life.

So it seems fitting that today’s quote is from ‘The Vintage Tea Party Book’ by Angel Adoree:

Eat, drink, love, laugh and keep the memory forever.

I know that there is plenty of eating, drinking and laughing that happens over Christmas, but as we plow into January, the month of good intentions and less chocolate, I want to remember the great value of spending time with friends for the pure pleasure of it! Friendships last a lot longer than diets anyway!

