Tags

,

It was Rob’s birthday last week. Órla and I were going to meet him at work and go out for lunch together to celebrate, and to introduce Órla to Rob’s  work colleagues.

As Órla obligingly had a nap in the morning I had time to make him some Blueberry muffins.

image

The recipe was from my Scrumptious Muffins book and I was intrigued to use it as it had a crumble topping to the muffins that looked delicious!

To make it I had to mix the crumble ingredients in one bowl with my fingers…which took ages because I did not soften the butter as instructed.

image

I then had to mix the dry and wet ingredients in separate bowls before combining them together. It was an interesting mix as it included sunflower oil and creme fraiche instead of butter.

image

image

Then it was time to assemble the muffins. First I put in a layer of batter.

image

image

Then I added blueberries and topped each one with the crumble mix.

In to the oven they went and out they came about 25 minutes later.

image

They looked very similar to the picture in the book! That never happens to me!

I took them in to Rob’s work where he said they went down very well. I didn’t get chance to eat one till the evening.

My taste verdict: they were just OK. The bun was a bit underwhelming for me and a little bit too chewy. I prefer my muffins more crumbly! Speaking of which, I did love the crumble top and would like to try that idea with other bakes. Overall I’d give it a 5 out of 10, but still got some good things to take away from it. Plus average cake is better than no cake!

