Tags

, ,

PollyannaI adore this quotation from Pollyanna. I think Pollyanna as a book has fallen out of favour, it is a bit sickly sweet for some, but I think that at it’s heart it has a good message; that it is better for us to seek out the good in situations, and that is is especially important to see and talk up the good we can see in other people.

Expectations have a powerful impact on how people behave. If a child is told repeatedly that they are naughty they continue to misbehave. If a coach tells a player that they can make the shot, they are more likely to make the shot. If we give voice to the good attributes we see in our friends and family the more likely they are to excel in those attributes.

I have a couple of friends who are very good at this, whenever I see them they make me feel proud of myself. They see the best in me and make me feel like I can achieve the things I want to achieve. That is the kind of friend I want to be to other people and it is definitely the kind of parent I want to be to my little Orla!

So, that’s my challenge this week, to talk up the good I see in people and be a better encourager!

