Tags

, ,

I have two weddings to attend this year, and I am really looking forward to them. For a couple of years Rob and I were invited to about ten weddings in a year, it was intense but I have come to discover how much I enjoy a good wedding. The marriage rush is a bit more spaced out now, which is good because I imagine attending a wedding with a baby is going to be a whole different experience!

The latest invitation arrived on Sunday and it is so beautiful I had to share it with you.

dsc_0688.jpgAnd whilst I was showing you the beautiful stationary I may as well include my new shoes that I think are going to be ideal for wedding season. They pass my wedding shoe checklist; pretty, neutral enough to go with different outfits, a heel tall enough to look good but small enough to not murder my feet before the speeches start!

I have learnt the rules of wedding shoes through my now extensive experience as a wedding guest. Here are the other rules I follow to get the most out of the day:

  • Always have a full English breakfast to start the day. Weddings are intense days and sometimes lunch time gets overlooked as you are often travelling to the venue or are at the ceremony.
  • Look good but be comfortable. If you have to tug the dress up or the skirt down every two minutes you are in the wrong outfit. It’s easier to have a good time when you are comfortable and confident in what you are wearing.
  • Bring snacks in the car. The reception can easily be delayed if the photos overrun so have a bag of emergency snacks and a bottle of water in the car, just in case!
  • Go for a walk in between the afternoon reception and the evening celebration. This is the most likely time of the day that you will suffer wedding fatigue, so leave the bar for a bit and have a wander around the grounds. If you are staying overnight at the hotel, now is a good time to go to your room and have a little chill out time. Then come back ready to dance the night away!
  • Don’t be shy when it comes to getting cake or stuck in the evening buffet. Everyone tends to wait for everyone else, but just lead the way and dive in, trust me you will be hungry!
  • Make sure that you tell the Bride and Groom and their parents what a great day you are having. A lot of work goes into a wedding and even though it is ‘their day’ the happy couple will have put a lot of thought in to how to give their guests a good time. They will enjoy their day a whole lot more if they know you are enjoying it too!

 

