Tags

, , , ,

matt-5-8-blessed-are-the-pure-in-heart-for-they-shall-see-god

Do you remember the song ‘What if God was one of us?’, It had a line that said;

‘If God had a face, what would it look like? And would you want to see, if seeing meant that you had to believe…’

It strikes me that when Jesus spoke these words that people really could see God. He was standing right there, in the form of Jesus, available to all of them. But only some of the crowd would really ‘see’ Him. Some would look at Jesus and see a mad man, others a trouble maker, some saw a teacher, some saw a prophet, and some saw Him as Christ the Lord.

I look forward to the day when I will get to see God for myself, face to face. To have Him in front of me and to have my faith and hope fulfilled in the completeness of His presence.

But until that day, I need to keep my heart pure; focused on Him and determined to follow Him, so that I don’t miss ‘seeing’ God in different ways. I want to keep my eyes open so that I see Jesus in the beauty of creation, in the wisdom of His word, and in the love of my friends and family.

On one hand God is hidden from us, like a bride behind a veil waiting for the right moment to be revealed in full, but on the other hand God is present for us to witness, if we have hearts set to see Him.

