Tags

, , , ,

This last month I have read one book that really challenged my thinking and got me working hard on some projects, and another book that has been pure enjoyable ‘turn-your-brain-off-and-the-toaster-on’ type reading.

Serious one first….

Simple Church by Thom S. Reiner and Eric Geiger

The simple revolution is here. From the design of Apple products to Google’s uncluttered homepage, simple ideas are changing the world.
Now in paperback, multi-awarded #1 national bestseller “Simple Church” guides Christians back to the simple gospel-sharing methods of Jesus. No bells or whistles required. With insights based on case studies of 400 American churches, Thom Rainer and Eric Geiger prove the disciple-making process is often too complex. Simple churches thrive by taking four ideas to heart:
Clarity. Movement. Alignment. Focus.

My Pastor leant this book to me when I joined the discipleship team at church. The main premise is that churches grow when they have a simple process that allows the curious to grow into disciples. A lot of what this book said made sense to me as I often see that people do want to grow in their faith but the next step forward isn’t always clear to take.

I think this is a really good read for anyone who is involved in ministry in a church – although be warned, it does leave you with that uncomfortable ‘I gotta go and make some changes’ feeling.

Nurse Heatherdale’s Story by Mrs Molesworth

dsc_0856.jpgI picked this up in a charity shop in Ilkley. I forget which one it is, but one of the shops has a big book section including a shelf for ‘Collectible’ items. There are always some beautiful second-hand, hard-backed treasures to find there, and now that I have a baby I can start investing in children’s books!

I admit I picked this one out purely for the gorgeous blue cover, but it turns out the story is a good one too. This edition was printed in 1901 and is very Enid Blyton in style and tone.

Nurse Heatherdale tells the story of her first year looking after the three daughters and one nephew of a noble but cash-strapped gentry family in Cornwall. It has a lot of classic British elements; picnics at the beach, afternoon tea, family scandal and tales of smugglers and ghosts, oh and a bunch of children to have the adventures!

Obviously the language and themes are a bit dated now, but I really enjoyed reading this book, and I can’t wait to read it to Orla when she is older. It has a very cosy, tea and crumpets kind of vibe, and it looks great on the bookshelf!

My Reading List:

Here are the books I have got lined up ready to read:

  • The Great Fables Crossover, Vol 13.
  • Breakout Churches by Thom Rainer
  • Off to the Lakes by Jessica Lofthouse
  • Babies in Waiting by Rosie Fiore
