Tags

, , , ,

This last week Stacey Solomon has been in the News after The Sun snapped some photos of her on holiday in a bikini and said that she had saggy breasts. Stacey hit back against the criticism and said that her boobs were a result of her being pregnant and breastfeeding and that she loved them as they are. Good on her!

This kind of mean-spirited journalism drives me nutty. I hate the thought of women being harassed on the streets or whilst on holiday for how they look and dress. And I don’t think being famous is a reason to hound women (or indeed, men) in this way.

And this is an issue that impacts non-famous women too. If celebrities are ridiculed for having boobs that comply with the law of gravity, or stomachs that are curved, or faces that blemish…then the message is going out there that all women should be ridiculed for not meeting a beauty standard enforced by the media. My blood boils even as I type this sentence.

So what can I do about it?

Well, I can’t stop the photographers or file lawsuits against the newspapers that pour out bile like this, but what I can do, is make sure that I don’t engage with the rubbish they publish. If people stopped reading, clicking and looking at these women-hating photos then the media would stop taking them.

That being said, I do like fashion; I like women in ballgowns, I like style, I like creativity and expression, so I don’t boycott all celebrity images, instead I follow my rules of what I will and will not look at, which are….

I will not buy magazines/click on articles that have celebrity photos where:

  • The women have been photographed on holiday, out on the street, whilst shopping, on a date… etc. That is called stalking and I won’t fund it.
  • Women are pitted against one another in a ‘Who wore it best?’ article or a ‘Winners and Losers of the Red Carpet’ article…. it’s mean-spirited and tells women that we are in competition with each other, which we are not.
  • People speculate about whether a celebrity is putting on or losing weight or if they are pregnant. It is none of my business.

But I will buy magazines/click on articles that have celebrity photos where:

  • There is a proper fashion shoot with a model or celebrity
  • Celebrities are photographed on the red carpet for an event – that is part of the fun
  • Celebrities have self-published photos on their websites or social media.

It’s not that I intentionally seek out a lot of celebrity photographs but they do often pop up in my Facebook trending list and I find that having my rules helps me to decide whether or not to abate my curiosity when I come to clicking on links.

Those are my rules on celebrity photographs. Do you have any rules of your own?

