Tags

, ,

I just found out last night that Burnley is holding a Literary Festival from Saturday 29th October to Monday 7th November. I am so excited that my home town is dedicating a week to books and poetry, and literary arts!

You can find a full program of events here. But here are the bits that I want to check out:

Pop-up Reading Lounge – This will be open throughout the festival in the Charter Walk Shopping Centre and will be a place to relax and read a book and where there will be readings, recitals and performances throughout the week.

Burnley Book Exchange – Also in the shopping centre there will be benches full of books that you can swap with your own favourites!

Writing a Thriller with Liz Flanagan & Tara Guha – Two novelists and friends from either side of the Pennines in fascinating conversation about writing a thriller and the current popularity of psychological thrillers. In the Central Methodist Church, Thursday 3rd November, 6-7pm.

Roald Dahl Day  -Friday 4th November Burnley town centre will be alive with Roald Dahl celebrations. From street performers and pop-up storytelling carousel, to Dahlicious family photos, a reading group and a Charlie & the chocolate factory afternoon tea party

Those are the things I am hoping to get to but I have spent a good half hour reading the program of events and there is absolutely loads going on! There are workshops on creative writing, crafting, comic book writing and illustration. There are talks from authors and poets, and open mic nights for people to share their work. And there are performances too from local theatre groups and UCLAN students.

I would really recommend having a look at their website and booking on to a session or two, especially if you are going to have bored kids with you over half term. I am so proud of my home town for putting on something as ambitious as this and I really hope it is a great success for them and for everyone involved. I am certainly planning on getting to as much as I can!

 

 

