Tags

, ,

I was due to write up a Book Bag post today according to my Blog Planner, but I am surprised to say that I haven’t finished a book since the last Book Bag post. Feels a bit shocking to write that!

The reason is that (limited reading time aside) I am still slowly working through this book called Surprised by Hope.

20161021_144058.jpg

It is all about what Christians really believe about life after death, and about the resurrection of Jesus Christ. It is a lot more interesting and exciting than good people go to heaven and bad people go to hell, and I am really enjoying looking over some of the foundational beliefs of the Christian faith.

As I am not ready to do a book review I thought I would show you instead my pretty bookmark that I am using whilst I read this borrowed book. (If it were my own book I would just be folding down the corners!)

20161021_143124.jpg

Isn’t that lovely? I picked it up from a little Art Gallery running from a beach hut at Clacton-On Sea. All of the artwork in there was produced by a club of artists who meet every Wednesday in the local Methodist Hall. They seemed to be a really tight-knit community from speaking to a couple of the sellers and the art work was really good. In the end I decided I had to get something and opted for this bookmark.

And finally I thought I would give you a glimpse at my ‘reading pile’:

dsc_1416.jpg

Here are all the books I have got lined up, just waiting to be read. It has gotten so big that I am putting myself on a book ban. No more books until I get through this lot!

