Tags

, , ,

I finally finished Surprised by Hope, the book that both delighted and troubled me for the last few months of 2016. With that done and dusted, I have turned to some light relief in my reading, picking up a Fable comic and some good old chick lit.

Fables Volume 14: Witches by Bill Willingham

61v1nejr3gl

While the meek and mild flying monkey Bufkin is trapped in Fabletown’s collapsed business office with the evil witch Baba Yaga, Frau Totenkinder and the witches at the Farm upstate prepare to deal with Mister Dark down in what’s left of Fabletown.

I am 14 volumes in to the Fables series and I am enjoying it more and more with each edition (minus the Jack crossover). It’s just layer upon layer of story telling and world building. Every installment throws more light on our major characters and their backstories and it is impressive, considering the scale of the Fables universe, at just how consistently written the characters are. In Witches I loved spending more time with flying monkey Bufkin and mysterious Totenkinder, two characters who have been present from the beginning but are now given full story lines to themselves.

I now can’t wait to get into the next volume and find out what how the battle with Mr Dark is going to happen!

The Little Lady Agency and the Prince by Hester Browne

51kiiyojlsl

Melissa is the shy, shockable sweetheart of a property tycoon. Honey is Supernanny meets Superwoman – the gal on a one-woman mission to Make Men Better.

To an outsider, they’re two completely different women. But they’re actually one and the same.

Until now, this has ticked along quite nicely – with Honey merely being Mel’s professional persona, when she’s running The Little Lady Agency. But now her grandmother has asked her to take on the case of a lifetime: namely improving Prince Nicolas of Hollenberg – Europe’s most playboy of princes – who, despite his good breeding, is completely set on leading Melissa astray. 

And this isn’t all that’s on Mel’s plate. She’s trying to set up her flatmate Nelson with a nice girl; her increasingly-bonkers family are making all sorts of demands on her; her best friend Gabi is getting married… oh, and she has her own fairytale ending to find.

The Little Lady Agency books are up there on my bookshelf of happy chick flick reads right next to Bridget Jones Diary. I was so thrilled when my Mother in Law gifted me this last book of the series for Christmas.

This was a perfectly fitting end to the Little Lady trilogy. Wrongs were righted, escapades were had and ……spoiler alert……Melissa finally fell into the arms of Mr Right.

Although a couple parts did trouble me. I didn’t enjoy the storyline about Emery and her baby. It seems like Emery spent the book avoiding having to do anything with the little baby boy to the extent that I thought it was going to touch on Postnatal depression. There is one point when the baby is screaming in the cot whilst everyone else is trying to rescue another family member from being locked in a bathroom, and Emery doesn’t pick the baby up even though she is standing right next to him. In the end the granddad  goes in and gets him. Everyone else acts as if this was all just a normal part of Emery’s laid back, lazy approach to life. That just jarred a little with me, but that is probably because I am reading it through the lens of being a new mum myself.

Everything else though was wonderful, flitting from glamourous outings with the prince to cosy nights in with Nelson. It’s like enjoying the best of both worlds and I am really happy to have read Honey’s last chapter.

