Tags

, ,

This week I tried a new recipe that nearly ended in disaster but actually turned out great. It is from Seasonal Baking by Fiona Cairns. This is a book I bought just after I promised myself not to but any more baking books. I picked it up in a book shop and the pictures were just too pretty!

Here is how the recipe looked in the book:

dsc_1719.jpgFirst steps were to make the pastry and this seemed to take forever because I had to chill it for at least an hour….twice! Orla doesn’t really allow me to have two lots of baking time in a day so I had to spread this out over two days. Here is what the chocolate pastry looked like when it went in to the oven.

dsc_1720.jpg

And here is what it looked like when it came out:

dsc_1722.jpg

Oh dear! At this point I was prepared to give up on the whole idea but I had just spent ten minutes chopping up a mound of chocolate and it felt like a waste to stop, so I went ahead and just crossed my fingers that the filling would hide most of the holes!

dsc_1723.jpgIs there a more delicious sight than a mountain of chocolate pieces?

dsc_1729.jpgHmm, actually a saucepan of melted chocolate, cream and butter looks even more delicious! (Note: this bake is not January-diet friendly)

20170119_130123.jpg

Fortunately the tart looked in much better shape with the filling in place, especially when I spattered it with melted white chocolate too! That was great fun! I then had a go at shaving down some of the edges to get a neater finish.

dsc_1737.jpg

That effort was only partly successful! But once I sliced it and dished it out to people you couldn’t see the mistakes anyway.

Now for the important bit, how did it taste? Pretty amazing, if I do say so myself. It is dark, dense and intense, a very grown up tasting tart, and the white chocolate on top just added a sweet touch to it.

I hope the rest of the recipes in the book turn out this well!This is definitely one I would do again… although I may just buy pre-made pastry next time!

