Tags

dsc_1416.jpg

Flicking through Pinterest and my new favourite internet distraction; Mumsnet I have seen a few book reading challenges for 2017 with goals of reading 50 books this year, or taking a vow to not buy new books in 2017 and only read the books you already own.

It got me thinking about my own reading habits so I scanned through all of my Book Bag posts of the last year to see how many books I read in a year. Here are my findings:

I only finished thirteen books! I am normally a quick and avid reader but Orla’s arrival and sleep deprivation seriously reduced the time I could spend reading. No more long soaks in the bath with a book or basking in the garden with a pile of reading by my side. Here are all the books I read in the last year:

  • Rosie Hopkins Sweet Shop of Dreams by Jenny Colgon
  • Bounce; The Myth of Talent and the Power of Practice by Matthew Syed
  • The Elements of Eloquence by Mark Forsyth,
  • Mr Mercedes by Stephen King,
  • The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan
  • Fables Volume 12; The Dark Ages
  • Nurse Heatherdale’s Story by Mrs Molesworth,
  • Simple Church by Thom S. Rainer & Eric Geiger
  • Breakout Churches by Thom S. Rainer
  • Fables Volume 13; The Great Fables Crossover
  • The Great Christmas Knit Off by Alexandra Brown,
  • Off to the Lakes by Jessica Lofthouse
  • Surprised by Hope, by Tom Wright

Nearly half of my reading has been non-fiction. Six out of the thirteen books I read were non-fiction. I am quite pleased with that, it was my goal a couple of years ago to read more non-fiction to learn new things. At first I struggled finding things to interest me but now I really enjoy reading non-fiction. I think the trick is finding very clever people who are passionate about their field of interest and have a desire to share that with others. Academics writing for academics is very dull but writing fueled by passion is always interesting even if at first the subject matter is a bit foreign to you.

dsc_0856.jpg

5 of the books were loaned by friends. It’s great sharing books with friends, it means that you have someone to talk about the book with! I love having a good natter about a good book, or a good moan about a frustrating one! Sharing books also helps you to understand your friends more; your reading choices reveal something about you and if someone shares a book with you then you know they are sharing something they found interesting, or uplifting or helpful. It is special to them and they are sharing it with you. It’s a beautiful thing!

I bought 6 books last year. I would suspect that this is an above average spending on books on my part. I normally use the library almost exclusively swapping three books every three weeks but with less time for reading I couldn’t keep to the deadlines and ended up buying more books to read in my own time. Usually I only buy books if I am confident that I am going to read them repeatedly. Speaking of which…

7 of the books are definite keepers that I will be returning to. They are mostly the fiction ones. As much as I enjoy non-fiction I don’t have the same desire to re-read them as I do with actual stories. Although the Elements of Eloquence is the exception to that rule, I loved that book! The ones I would happily read again are:

  • The Great Christmas Knit Off by Alexandra Brown,
  • Nurse Heatherdale’s Story by Mrs Molesworth,
  • Mr Mercedes by Stephen King,
  • The Elements of Eloquence by Mark Forsyth,
  • Rosie Hopkins Sweet Shop of Dreams by Jenny Colgon
  • Fables Volume 12; The Dark Ages.

I will be interested to do a reading summary again in a year’s time to see if it is wildly different from 2016!

img_20160625_164557.jpg

