Tags

,

dsc_1810.jpg

The best thing about my home is the garden, no contest. It is basically a small field with old trees and lots of squirrels. Last year I thought I would get lots of gardening projects done whilst I was on maternity leave. That was a mistaken assumption….I did nothing! But even left to it’s own devices, and even in the latter bedraggled stages of winter, the garden still has lots of treasures to discover.

dsc_1812.jpgDaffodil shoots are rising up, letting me know that Spring is on it’s way. There are also signs that we will have a good bluebell crop this year. I really love all the flowers that appear in Spring and can’t wait to spot the first crocus or snowdrop.

dsc_1813.jpg

My friend’s got me this clever bird feeder for Christmas that ‘frames’ the birds. I was desperate to put it up so I have placed it on this tree for now but I think one of our projects this year will be to set up a proper bird feeding area.

dsc_1814.jpgThe primroses are eeking out, pushing aside the dead leaves that I never got round to sweeping up!

dsc_1817.jpgBut even though it is untidy debris, I think the messy lawn is interesting, especially under the horse-chestnut tree where there is a generous scattering of conker shells. Plus the twigs and leaves are good for wildlife, which is very important to us.

I love it when a new animal comes and visits our little wildlife friendly garden, so far we have had; squirrels, birds, a hedgehog, a heron, mice, pheasants, a fox, owls and deer.

I really want to entice a badger to come next, any hints on how to do that would be most appreciated!

