I have only one book left in my reading pile at the moment! For over a year the majority of my reading has been books that have either been given or loaned to me and once I have finished the book I am currently reading I will be completely out of gifted books.

It is interesting to read what another person has loved and I am grateful that my family consult my reading wish list when it comes to present buying, but I am really looking forward to go book hunting soon and pick out some things for myself.

Before I go in search of new adventures I want to share what I have read in the last few weeks. Weirdly, they have all been fairy tale related:

Snow White by Jospehine Poole and Angela Barrett, and Beauty and the Beast by Max Eilenberg and Angela Barrett

These books were actually presents to Orla from Fionne but I absolutely adore them and have read them cover to cover myself. These fairy tales are beautifully retold and each illustration by Angela Barrett is packed with enchanting details. Orla especially likes Snow White as it has lots of cats that she can point to and go ‘meeeeeeow’.

The challenge now is keeping them in good condition so that Orla can truly appreciate them when she is old enough to take in the words.

Politically Correct Bedtime Stories by James Finn Garner

James Finn Garner has taken the opportunity to rewrite classic stories for more enlightened times: from Snow White s relationship with seven vertically challenged men, Little Red Riding Hood, her grandma and the cross-dressing wolf who set up an alternative household based on mutual respect and cooperation to the Emperor who was not naked but was endorsing a clothing-optional lifestyle. For the first time read the true story of what happened when the Ugly Duckling was judged on its personal merits and not on its physical appearance. At last, here is bedtime reading free from prejudice and discrimination to witches, giants, dwarves, goblins and fairies everywhere. You can remedy this cultural defect by reading Politically Correct Bedtime Stories and discovering what really happened when Jack climbed the beanstalk, when Cinderella went to the ball and when the wolf tried to blow down the house of the Three Little Pigs. For anyone brought up on sexist, racist, sizeist and ethnocentrist reading matter these stories have been purged of the influence of an insensitive cultural past to become fables for our times.

This was another gift from Fionne to contrast the more traditional fairy tales. This is an exceptionally fun and witty little book that makes cutting jibes against over the top correctness in the most mild mannered tone. Cinderella was particularly hilarious.

Fables Vol 15: Rose Red

It feels like Rose Red has been wallowing in her bed forever since the death of Boy Blue. She has been completely useless and to be honest I was getting rather tired of her but at last she rises from the murky bed sheets of despair and rises up once more to her position of leadership. It felt really good to see the old Rose Red back and to get a look into her past life and what caused the fissures in her relationship with Snow White.

In bigger news the fight against Mr Dark was spectacular but unsuccessful and now our Fables are having to flee once more. I am desperate to read the next volume to find out whether they are going to take back the homelands or are they going to fight to keep hold of the mundy world.

I love this series and 15 volumes in I still want to read the next one!

